My Journey from Couch to 5K

My Journey from Couch to 5K

I’d made a post several weeks ago about planning to start training, and then bailed after one day so I deleted the post. But I’m back, and I’m committed.

Let’s get the run down (no pun intended). I started walking on Saturday (5/13), and am tracking my progress with Map My Run, which I LOVE. 10000/10, definitely recommend.

That first day, I walked 1.3 miles and averaged 16:47 minutes/mile.

The second day (5/14), I walked 2.03 miles and averaged 17:15 minutes/mile. Definitely slower, but I was thrilled to get up over two miles! The trick here was deciding whether to stop in the middle of the hill I live on, or go to the top of the hill (end of our street) and walk home downhill. It was a quick decision, and a great one. There’s something incredibly refreshing and rewarding about being able to cool down at the end.

Day three, I accidentally added an extra quarter of a mile (whoops) and ended up walking 2.29 miles, averaging 16:39 minutes/mile! I beat myself by thirty five seconds from my walk the previous day! I’ve definitely started building endurance. But this was the day I started really suffering with blisters on the balls of my feet… I couldn’t walk for the rest of the day.

I was going to take the next day off because of the blisters, but #NoPainNoGain possessed me and I wrapped the blisters in ace tape, laced up my running shoes, and knocked out another 1.53 miles! I didn’t make it to the top of the hill this day, but was really proud of myself for doing the mile and a half at a 16:38 average per mile despite how much pain I’d been in. And would you believe me if I told you that the blisters actually felt better after the walk?

Then, today I wrapped up my blisters again and got out there to add another 2.04 miles to the books. It was a big day! Day 5 of being committed to my new routine. Again, I was going to take a break, but decided I don’t have that luxury if I want to reach my health and fitness goals. I walked my fastest mile yet in the first 15:53, which I was very proud of. My second mile was much slower, but my average leveled out at 16:32/mile, which is up six seconds from what my average had been!

So that’s what I’ve been consumed with the last five days. And I have no intentions of stopping. They say it takes twenty-one days to form a habit – sixteen days to go! I’m kind of up in the air as to what my plan is going to be, but this is it tentatively:

  • Day 7, 10, 13, 16, 19: 1.3 Miles
  • Day 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21: 2.3 miles
  • Day 8, 11, 14, 17, 20: 2.03 Miles

This could change depending on heat/weather. If it’s torrentially raining or there is an air quality advisory for our area (humidity/allergies), I will have to find a way to get the exercise in at home.

After that, I want to increase to twice a day. I’ll probably do 1.3 miles twice a day for ten days, and then 1.3 miles once a day and 2.03 miles once a day ten days. For the following eight days, I want to increase to 3.33 miles once a day (the equivalent of a 5K!).

After forty-nine days of building endurance and stamina, on the fiftieth day I would like to begin integrating running. I may feel differently about it at that point, I’ll know better then what I’m prepared for.

Leave a Reply

