Day 6 Success and BN Wishlist

Day 6 Success and BN Wishlist

Just an update, not that anyone is paying horribly close attention to my trivial little corner of the WWW. Last night, I felt horrible. I mean God-awful. I have a sore throat, the medicine I took had me totally fatigued, my house is a hot-box, the whole nine. My throat is still sore today and I woke up with full intentions of making it a lazy, unproductive day with the help of Ellen DeGeneres and Tyler Henry.

Like I said yesterday, I don’t have that luxury! If I want to (a) lose the weight and (b) stay healthy for the rest of my life, I have to commit to this 110%! So around 1pm, I started going through the motions of getting ready to head out. Our air conditioning is busted so our house is 85 degrees, the humidity is up today so the real feel is tap dancing on Hell, and I couldn’t find my water bottle. But once I made the decision, I was all in. So I had my 8 ounces, taped up my blisters, laced up my shoes (which have started to fall apart, by the way), and got out there.

My legs were cramping at the beginning which gave me pause, but I kept moving and they worked themselves out. I didn’t run to cross the streets like I usually do which is what I think added the extra time to my averages (16:42/mile). There was a team of men pruning trees in a yard so I was trying to figure out how to alter my route – decided not to and just went around the nice little men and their wood chipper. And I had to pee. The whole. Damn. Time.

Definitely a couple road bumps this afternoon – notice I said bumps, not blocks. I still hauled myself up to the top of our hill and got in the 2.3 miles I’d assigned for myself today.

Day 6 complete.

On to the Barnes and Noble Wishlist!

There are two books I’ve been dying to get and add to my shelf – they really make me feel like a twenty something, but that’s a good thing because that’s what I am! Since I think they’ll help me on my journey, I wanted to share them and their descriptions from B&N with whatever reader took the time to get to this point.

The first is “Strong Looks Better Naked” by the one and only Khloé Kardashian.

“There is no such thing as perfect. Nobody attains perfection. But if you keep trying, you grow and evolve, and to me that’s the point: To be a better person today than I was yesterday; to become the best possible version of myself.” – Khloé Kardashian

Khloé Kardashian shares her secrets for finding strength of body, mind, and heart with revelatory stories of her own struggles with weight, relationships, and her self-image.

In a culture that worships skinny, Kardashian writes with passion about the power of strength: a strong body lays the foundation for a strong mind, which leads to strength of heart, character, and ultimately spirit. Filled with practical advice, recipes, and compelling personal anecdotes, Strong Looks Better Naked is an inspiring meditation on how to create strength, confidence, and true beauty in every facet of your life.

(source: Barnes and Noble)

The second book is the wildly popular “This Is Just My Face: Try Not to Stare” by Gabourey Sidibe.

The Oscar-nominated Precious star and Empire actress delivers a much-awaited memoir—wise, complex, smart, funny—a version of the American experience different from anything we’ve read.

Sidibe’s memoir hits hard with self-knowing dispatches on friendship, depression, celebrity, haters, fashion, race, and weight (“If I could just get the world to see me the way I see myself,” she writes, “would my body still be a thing you walked away thinking about?”). Irreverent, hilarious, and untraditional, This Is Just My Face takes its place and fills a void on the shelf of writers from Mindy Kaling to David Sedaris to Lena Dunham.

(Source: Barnes and Noble)

Leave a Reply

