The Power of a Path

The Power of a Path

When I applied for college, it was to the Education program. Before I started, I switched to Communications. People had filled my head with all the horrible, discouraging things aspiring teachers hear; “You know you won’t get paid much, right?” “Don’t you think you’re selling yourself short?” “Those who can’t, teach!” I felt freer and like my future had more flexibility if I pursued a liberal studies major. But I wasn’t in love with it. I wanted to be! I really, really wanted to be. But I just wasn’t motivated. I failed my first year of college (Fall 2014 – Spring 2015) trying to figure it all out. I blamed everyone and everything else, but I was really just missing one very important thing: a path.

The First Step

In the Fall semester of 2015, I had lost my financial aid and was forced to take a limited number of credit hours. I took two classes: Intro to Education, and Special Education. They were introductory and prerequisites for the Education program at my school. I had decided at that point that I wanted to give teaching the chance I’d never given it initially. I loved the classes. I succeeded in the classes. And the necessary observation hours in schools made me realize it was exactly where I fit, and exactly where I wanted to be.

The next semester, the time came for me to decide what ages I wanted to teach. Elementary? Middle? High school? I started a Pinterest board and my interests definitely leaned toward Elementary school. The more I looked into it and thought about it, the more I fell in love with the idea. It wasn’t long before I knew it was what I wanted to do.

The Path

As I got into the course work and started exploring it more, I decided I wanted to earn my Masters degree in School Counseling after graduating with my Bachelors degree. That thought was invigorating! I wasn’t just working toward one degree and one job for the rest of my life. I was pursuing a career. I recently decided that I also want to earn a Masters Degree in School Administration. I wasn’t certain at first, but career growth is something that really excites me! And that’s something I never had with any career path before; knowing that something comes after whatever comes next.

The Point

I share this story because it was the discovery of my path that brought me from where I was to where I am – happier, healthier, more present in the moment and more excited for the future than ever. It is so incredibly important to find that purpose in life. To not feel stuck, not feel “treadmilled”… to feel like you are moving on or moving up. Life is too short to feel like you are treading water.

Take the first step, find your path, and keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

